Author Topic: GOP Senator Tom Cotton Blasts The Idea Americans Won't Work Certain Jobs  (Read 3257 times)

Offline edpc

• Professional Misanthrope - Briefer and Boxer
Re: GOP Senator Tom Cotton Blasts The Idea Americans Won't Work Certain Jobs
« Reply #25 on: August 05, 2017, 05:17:06 pm »
Tom Cotton needs to get out into the real world.

Read about his upbringing and career. 
I disagree.  Circle gets the square.

Offline Suppressed

« Reply #26 on: August 05, 2017, 06:02:42 pm »
Read about his upbringing and career.

I'm familiar with him, and his past is irrelevant to how he's out of touch now.
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Suppressed

« Reply #27 on: August 05, 2017, 06:12:23 pm »
But if you think Trump's wall is the solution to all, then you are deluded.

As much as I'm against illegal immigration and think that border security is important, I get frustrated with people who think that cutting off cheaper labor will somehow make American companies -- that are already having trouble competing -- will suddenly decide they can still stay in business while paying over-market wages.   I hate to say it, but many Americans have an inflated self-worth and think they are entitled to get paid more than a foreign worker for the same job out of some birthright charity.

American companies in that scenario either have to go out of business (because they can't compete with foreign companies who use market-rate labor), or they have to leave the US so they can use market-rate labor.  Is this what we want?!

A guest worker program where publicly funded benefits are cut off, and costs are put onto the guest workers, is probably the best solution.

+++++++++