General Category > Editorial/Opinion/Blogs

After Sleeping On It, My Morning After Thoughts of Cruz's Endorsement of Trump

(1/2) > >>

Silver Pines:

After Sleeping On It, My Morning After Thoughts of Cruz's Endorsement of Trump

by Steve Deace
09/24/2016

The toughest part about what I do for a living is I have to constantly make a choice between being a shill or being honest. This business leaves you little room in between (it does love its flawed, binary choices after all), and isn't much for distinctions.

Yet, I keep trying to draw them anyway, thus ticking off nearly everybody in the process.

This becomes particularly problematic when you develop relationships with people. Which is unavoidable unless you're Vulcan, and then even in that case Spock made friends after a 5-year mission on the Enterprise.  However, relationships are complicated. For they both cloud things and provide clarity simultaneously. On the one hand, they allow you to know more than the average person does because of the access. But they also cause you to project on the other, because you see what you want to see more so than what actually is.

Here's what that means in the context of Cruz's decision to endorse Trump yesterday.

Read more at:

https://www.facebook.com/stevedeace/posts/635786053268104

Silver Pines:
This is a thoughtful, very fair piece, IMO.

Deace linked to it on his twitter timeline; the title is the caption he used for the link.  If it isn't within TBR posting rules, mods please remove it.

catfish1957:

--- Quote from: CatherineofAragon on September 24, 2016, 04:06:57 pm ---

This becomes particularly problematic when you develop relationships with people. Which is unavoidable unless you're Vulcan, and then even in that case Spock made friends after a 5-year mission on the Enterprise.  However, relationships are complicated. For they both cloud things and provide clarity simultaneously.

Read more at:

https://www.facebook.com/stevedeace/posts/635786053268104