Author Topic: Doomed duck boat's designer had no engineering training, court documents reveal  (Read 1440 times)

Offline endicom

Fox News
Barnini Chakraborty
July 24, 2018

BRANSON, Mo. –  The duck boat that sank in a Missouri lake last week, killing 17 people and injuring several others, was built by a self-taught entrepreneur who had little to no engineering training, according to new court documents.

Designer Robert McDowell, the former owner of Ride The Ducks, is a self-taught entrepreneur who grew up in the tourist town of Branson.

He made money by altering and manufacturing dozens of amphibious vehicles, though he lacked the proper engineering skills to do so, according to his own testimony.

In a deposition last year on a separate matter, McDowell said he taught himself how to rebuild and maintain a fleet of duck boats despite lacking any training or certification in mechanics.

More... http://www.foxnews.com/us/2018/07/24/doomed-duck-boats-designer-had-no-engineering-training-court-documents-reveal.html

Offline jmyrlefuller

• J. Myrle Fuller
  • Cat Mod
  • Realistic nihilist
    • Fullervision
McDowell managed to turn his Ride The Ducks boat business into a lucrative one before selling it in 2004.

Since then, Ride The Ducks, through its various corporate iterations, has been linked to several high-profile accidents, including last week’s horrific one that devastated an entire community.
There's something wrong with this.

Last night the local PBS station was showing a special on some of the great American engineering marvels, such as the Erie Canal, some of the great bridges and tunnels, and such. It was remarkable how many of them were designed by passionate amateurs.

Now I look at this story. This guy hasn't been involved with the company in question in 14 years. The story notes that the record of incidents started filing in AFTER he sold it. So it looks to me like they didn't know how to operate his boats more than any failure of engineering.