Author Topic: Ohio's Amendment 1 Fails, Clearing Way for Easier Passage of Radical Pro-Abortion Initiative  (Read 1437 times)

Offline Kamaji

Ohio's Amendment 1 Fails, Clearing Way for Easier Passage of Radical Pro-Abortion Initiative

Rebecca Downs
August 08, 2023

Update:

Secretary of State Frank LaRose, who put in a valiant effort to get Amendment 1 passed, released a statement on Twitter. Although the result was a disappointing one, LaRose's statement had hopeful parts to it, in that it was "only one battle in a long war" and that "I'm just getting started in the fight to protect Ohio's values."

He did, however, warn, as he did when campaigning in favor of the amendment, that there was involvement from those out-of-state. "Unfortunately, we were dramatically outspend by dark money billionaires from California to New York, and the giant 'for sale' sign still hangs on Ohio's constitution," and that "ohioans will see the devastating impact of this vote soon enough."

Original:

Ohioans voted against Amendment 1 in a Tuesday special election, which means that constitutional amendments still only need to pass with 50 percent plus 1. As a result, special interest groups from out-of-state will have a considerably easier time passing a pro-abortion ballot initiative this November. Had the amendment passed, it would have increased the voter approval threshold for constitutional amendments to 60 percent in order to pass.

The consequences are very real and could be fast approaching if the initiative, known as the Ohio Right to Make Reproductive Decisions Including Abortion Initiative, passes in just a few months time. As Townhall has covered, the initiative's passage could have massive implications for parental rights.

Source:  https://townhall.com/tipsheet/rebeccadowns/2023/08/08/ohios-amendment-1-special-election-results-n2626722

Online mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!