Author Topic: AOC Called Out for Trying to Claim Her Family May Have Starved Under Administration's New Food Stamp  (Read 330 times)

Online mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!
AOC Called Out for Trying to Claim Her Family May Have Starved Under Administration's New Food Stamp Rules
Leah Barkoukis

Posted: Dec 06, 2019 8:10 AM

Democratic Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY) criticized the Trump administration’s new rules tightening requirements for food stamps, claiming she and her family may have starved had they been in place when her father died.

“My family relied on food stamps (EBT) when my dad died at 48. I was a student. If this happened then, we might’ve just starved,” she wrote on Twitter. “Now, many people will. It’s shameful how the GOP works overtime to create freebies for the rich while dissolving lifelines of those who need it most.”

Ocasio-Cortez was responding to a breaking news tweet from NBC that said work requirements for food stamp recipients had been finalized, which would cause hundreds of thousands of people to lose access.

more
https://townhall.com/tipsheet/leahbarkoukis/2019/12/06/aoc-tries-to-claim-her-family-may-have-starved-under-administrations-new-food-stamp-rules-n2557589
Proud Supporter of Tunnel to Towers
Support the USO
Democrat Party...the Party of Infanticide

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”
-Matthew 6:34

Offline PeteS in CA

From the linked article:

Heritage Foundation
✔
@Heritage
The rule applies to able-bodied adults between the ages of 18 and 49 who do not have dependents.

The rule wouldn’t apply to parents with minor children, the elderly, or disabled people.

AOC either spoke in ignorance or lied - she has considerable practice in both.