Author Topic: Latest Russian spy story looks like another elaborate media deception  (Read 422 times)

Offline TomSea

• All deserve a trial if accused

Latest Russian spy story looks like another elaborate media deception
The tale of Oleg Smolenkov is just the latest load of high-level BS dumped on us by intelligence agencies
Sep 13

When I was 20, I studied at the Leningrad Polytechnical Institute, in the waning days of the Soviet empire. Most of the Russians I met were amusingly free of stress caused by following news. Why would they bother? Bull-factories like Rossiskaya Gazeta and Leningradsaya Pravda were basically collections of dreary government news releases rewritten to sound like news reports.

I saw newspapers in Leningrad shredded into slivers of toilet paper, used in place of curtains in dorm rooms, even stuffed into overcoat linings as insulation. But I can’t recall a Russian person actually reading a Soviet newspaper for the content. That’s how useless its “news” was.

We’re headed to a similar place. The cable networks, along with the New York Times and Washington Post increasingly act like house organs of the government, and in particular the intelligence agencies.

Read more at: https://taibbi.substack.com/p/latest-russian-spy-story-looks-like

This "extract" the spy in Russia story I get is wondrous in trying to decipher it, the author does seem to be coming from the right angle. Unsure of what this sourced website is about.  In brief, this whole story has seemed "fishy".

« Last Edit: September 15, 2019, 02:36:06 am by TomSea »

Offline TomSea

• All deserve a trial if accused
Re: Latest Russian spy story looks like another elaborate media deception
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2019, 02:48:25 am »
Paper Reports 'Details' Of Alleged CIA Informer's Disappearance In Montenegro

The house in Stafford, Virginia, belonged to Oleg and Antonina Smolenkov, public records say.