Author Topic: Want to shock a college student? Tell him how much tuition cost in the '60s  (Read 558 times)

Offline mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!
May 12, 2019
Want to shock a college student? Tell him how much tuition cost in the '60s
By John J. Duncan, Jr.

In June of 1965, I graduated from high school in Knoxville, left my job as a bagboy at the A&P, and became a salesman at Sears, making $1.25 an hour.

I worked full-time that summer and part-time after starting at the University of Tennessee in late September.

I have enjoyed shocking students at U.T. in recent years by telling them it was $90 a quarter my freshman year — $270 for the school year.

Telling students about my tuition has allowed me to then tell them a simple but important lesson that they have seemingly never been taught: that costs simply explode on anything the federal government subsidizes.

more
https://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2019/05/want_to_shock_a_college_student_tell_him_how_much_college_cost_in_the_60s.html
Proud Supporter of Tunnel to Towers
Support the USO
Democrat Party...the Party of Infanticide

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”
-Matthew 6:34

Offline sneakypete

• Twitter is for Twits
After telling them how much you paid,explain to them WHY they are paying so much today. Make sure to focus on how much of their tuition goes to give "free" tuition's to people who can barely speak English and have no hope of actually being able to pass any course that has critical thinking,yet who will graduate with them and then take the top jobs the working students paid for BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT WHITE.
Anyone who isn't paranoid in 2021 just isn't thinking clearly!

Offline LadyLiberty