Author Topic: Will We, Like Christ, Embrace Those Suffering in Nigeria?  (Read 501 times)

Offline TomSea

• All deserve a trial if accused
Will We, Like Christ, Embrace Those Suffering in Nigeria?
« on: August 26, 2018, 10:43:23 am »
Will We, Like Christ, Embrace Those Suffering in Nigeria? | BCNN1
BCNN1

I returned to my room on the mission compound after our team had spent another day ministering to Nigerian Christian widows whose husbands had been killed by radical Muslims. But I couldn’t pray — not yet.

Islamist attacks on Nigerian Christians in recent years have resulted in the burning of scores of churches, the execution of thousands of men, the abduction of hundreds of girls and the widowhood of more than 5,000 women. One moment, I was too angry to pray. The next moment, too sad. I wanted to scream, and I wanted to weep.

As a former military officer, my mind began to wander as I tried to imagine a military strategy that would capture or kill every violent extremist. Of course, it was fantasy because there is no such strategy. I needed to pray. I couldn’t carry the burden. I began, “Heavenly Father, these precious widows are your children. Show me how I can serve them again tomorrow. Do not let me give in to frustration, anger or hatred.”

Read more at: http://blackchristiannews.com/2018/08/will-we-like-christ-embrace-those-suffering-in-nigeria/  (and http://blackchristiannews.com/2018/08/will-we-like-christ-embrace-those-suffering-in-nigeria/ )

Africa's population is predicted to grow greatly this century. I think it's important that where we see the most growth is in the Christian population.

So, this article seems to be a "missionary" perspective.

Offline Fishrrman

• Dumbest member of the forum
Re: Will We, Like Christ, Embrace Those Suffering in Nigeria?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2018, 10:51:12 pm »
No.
We should not help Nigeria.

If we do, the population will only grow larger, producing a larger crisis.