Author Topic: Nation's 'Ice Box' Breaks A 93-Year-Old Low Temperature Record  (Read 1474 times)

Offline Victoria33

Re: Nation's 'Ice Box' Breaks A 93-Year-Old Low Temperature Record
« Reply #25 on: December 27, 2017, 07:40:38 pm »
People who say wind chill factor doesn't matter don't know what they're talking about. I have a co-worker from Nevada who is experiencing her first Michigan winter and I'm coaching her through it.
@Cripplecreek

I was an EMT so had to know about this.  Windchill only affects living creatures; your body tissue will absorb the extra cold of windchill; it will kill you.  It does not affect non-animate objects.  Example on non-animate objects:  A pipe will react to 30 real degrees; it will not react more with the windchill added degrees. 

Offline Cripplecreek

• Constitutional Extremist
« Reply #26 on: December 27, 2017, 07:44:41 pm »
The other thing is the humidity difference from Western states.  The same wind speed and temperature as out west will feel bone-chilling with the extra humidity.

When its hot the heat index rises with the humidity. You get hot and sweat but the sweat doesn't evaporate and cool you because the air is already saturated with moisture.

Offline thackney

« Reply #27 on: December 27, 2017, 07:45:02 pm »
@Cripplecreek

I was an EMT so had to know about this.  Windchill only affects living creatures; your body tissue will absorb the extra cold of windchill; it will kill you.  It does not affect non-animate objects.  Example on non-animate objects:  A pipe will react to 30 real degrees; it will not react more with the windchill added degrees.

No, windchill affects anything with heat above the ambient temperature.  If it has heating equipment such as a building, it takes away heat faster, causing more heat required to maintain the inside temperature.

If it is a pipe carrying oil that gells when enough heat is removed, it will gell faster.
Life is fragile, handle with prayer

Offline Cripplecreek