Author Topic: Trump Weighs Breaking Up Wall Street Banks, Raising U.S. Gas Tax  (Read 1132 times)

Offline Suppressed

+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline ABX

• Words full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.
Re: Trump Weighs Breaking Up Wall Street Banks, Raising U.S. Gas Tax
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2017, 05:37:53 pm »
Going back to Glass-Stegall? FDR is that you?

Offline ABX

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2017, 05:39:52 pm »
Trump also said he’s open to increasing the U.S. gas tax to fund infrastructure development, in a further sign that policies unpopular with the Republican establishment are under consideration in the White House. He described higher gas taxes as acceptable to truckers -- “I have one friend who’s a big trucker,” he said -- as long as the proceeds are dedicated to improving U.S. highways.....

..and in this case, he is practically quoting Barbara Boxer.  https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/politics/2015/04/15/gas-tax-highway-bill-unions-boxer/25848153/

Offline Cripplecreek

• Constitutional Extremist
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2017, 05:51:24 pm »
Because paying more for gas is always good for the economy.

Offline SirLinksALot

Trump Weighs Breaking Up Wall Street Banks, Raising U.S. Gas Tax
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2017, 05:51:38 pm »
SOURCE: BLOOMBERG NEWS

URL: https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/articles/2017-05-01/trump-says-he-s-considering-moves-to-break-up-wall-street-banks?utm_content=politics&utm_campaign=socialflow-organic&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&cmpid%3D=socialflow-twitter-politics

by Jennifer Jacobs  and Margaret Talev