Author Topic: Obituaries for 2017  (Read 209331 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: Obituaries for 2017
« Reply #1000 on: June 28, 2017, 01:49:43 pm »
Paddington Bear author Michael Bond dies aged 91
Creator of marmalade-loving bear from Peru, whose last story was published in April, has died after a short illness
https://www.theguardian.com/books/2017/jun/28/paddington-bear-author-michael-bond-dies-aged-91

Michael Bond, the creator of the beloved children’s character Paddington Bear, has died aged 91.

Bond, who published his first book, A Bear Called Paddington, about the marmalade-loving bear from deepest, darkest Peru, in 1958, died at home after a short illness.

The author, born in Newbury, Berkshire, in 1926, kept writing until his death. His most recent Paddington story, Paddington’s Finest Hour, was published in April.

Excerpt.
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Gefn

• "And though she be but little she is fierce"-Shakespeare
  • Cat Mod
  • Quos Deus Vult Perdere Prius Dementat
« Reply #1001 on: June 28, 2017, 01:51:13 pm »
@Suppressed , we posted at the same time.

RIP Paddington..

I'm going to miss you. Even though I was never blessed to have a Paddington Bear

http://edition.cnn.com/2017/06/28/europe/michael-bond-paddington-bear/index.html
« Last Edit: June 28, 2017, 01:54:34 pm by Freya »
G-d bless America. G-d bless us all                                 

Adopt a puppy or kitty from your local shelter
Or an older dog or cat. They're true love❤️

Offline skeeter

« Reply #1002 on: June 28, 2017, 02:16:34 pm »
Swedish actor Michael Nyqvist, of Dragon Tattoo and John Wick, dies at 56