Author Topic: SEPTA Strike in Philadelphia  (Read 1238 times)

Offline Bunny Watson

SEPTA Strike in Philadelphia
« on: November 02, 2016, 02:15:38 am »
What? No articles about this major story?  I'm living it. The jerks on strike took illegal action today, blocking access to the rail lines, preventing Regional Rail workers (who are on a separate contract) from getting to work, wreaking even more havoc on a crappy public transportation system that's had a terrible year.  The bus drivers make $80,000/year, and they're striking. I have a PhD, and until four years ago I wasn't making $80,000/year!

http://www.philly.com/philly/news/20161031_SEPTA__union__still_talking_as_possible_strike_looms.html

Update: 12:07 a.m.:

More than 5,000 members of TWU Local 234 are on strike at SEPTA.
From earlier:
With just three hours to go before almost 5,000 transit workers in Philadelphia strike, negotiations have come down to a dispute over pensions, a source with knowledge of the negotiations said.
The union workers are unhappy that their pensions don't grow commensurate to their pay once a worker makes more than $50,000. Managers pensions are uncapped, and members of Transportation Workers Union 234 want their people to also have uncapped pensions, the source said.

While there are other issues at issue, including medical benefits and schedules, it appears a strike that could affect hundreds of thousands of people will be either avoided or begun over the pension question.

Offline Frank Cannon

Re: SEPTA Strike in Philadelphia
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2016, 02:44:37 am »