Author Topic: Too Clevery by half. The law of unintended consequences.  (Read 968 times)

Offline DiogenesLamp

Too Clevery by half. The law of unintended consequences.
« on: July 12, 2016, 02:15:34 am »
Someone just suggested to me that I don't post enough,  and as a person that very much likes to express my opinion,   I instantly saw the wisdom in this suggestion,   so here it is.   

I would like to start a topic that I have been contemplating for several years.   It is how really smart people with really good intentions,  end up making a muck of things.   A condition that the British refer to as "Too Clever by Half." 

I just read this article the other day,  and it is a pretty good example of the sort of thing to which I am referring. 

History is full of events we look back upon as turning points. In some cases the people involved in the events were unaware of their significance. The Marian Reforms changed the course of Roman history, but the people at the time had no idea what was coming as a result. They seemed like much needed reforms in response to previous military disasters. Having politicians raise volunteer armies and then lead them against enemies was simply not working. No one imagined that these reforms would result in Sulla’s march on Rome.

Yeah,  that good intentioned common sense reform just utterly rooked the Roman Republic,  didn't it?   :)

Have more to add,  but I'm going to wait for other's input.   I already know what I think about things. 

‘What all the wise men promised has not happened, and what all the damned fools said would happen has come to pass.’
— Lord Melbourne —

Offline ABX

• Words full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.
Re: Too Clevery by half. The law of unintended consequences.
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2016, 02:19:46 am »
For want of a nail, a shoe was lost
For want of a shoe, a horse was lost
For want of a horse, a rider was lost
For want of a rider, a message was lost
For want of a message, a battle was lost