Author Topic: Odds of a Hillary email grand jury underway just went much higher  (Read 1072 times)

rangerrebew

March 10, 2016
Odds of a Hillary email grand jury underway just went much higher
By Thomas Lifson

I have speculated that, given the immunity offered to Bryan Pagliano, it is possible that a grand jury has been convened.  But I am not a lawyer, much less a former U.S. attorney.  Joseph E. diGenova, on the other hand, is one of a small group of attorneys generally considered a super-lawyer, and not only a veteran U.S. attorney, but the former U.S. attorney for Washington, D.C., at the very top of federal prosecutors.  So when Joe diGenova offers an opinion on the likelihood of a grand jury being empaneled, we (a group that includes Hillary Clinton! – possibly the first time I have even included myself in a grouping with Hillary) should pay attention.

Richard Pollock of the Daily Caller News Foundation spoke with him:

“My long experience as the United States Attorney and an independent counsel makes me conclude as a matter of professional judgment that a grand jury exists,” diGenova told TheDCNF.  “It is readily apparent to me that there is at least a grand jury impaneled for the purposes of issuing subpoenas,” he said.

The specifics of diGenova’s expert opinion are daunting for Hillary.  It is not just that violations of law over classified information that are likely at issue.

The Bureau has between 100 and 150 agents assigned to the case. They would not have that many people assigned to a classified information case[.]

Remember that diGenova has actually run investigations.  So he knows about resource allocation and subject matter for inquiry.

“Based on reports that agents are asking questions about the foundation, it seems to me to properly the subject is a second prong of the investigation,” he said.

And what might that second prong be?  He doesn’t say, but Pollock offers this helpful reminder: