Author Topic: Rafael Cruz Slams Trump and Evangelicals Who Vote for Him  (Read 752 times)

Offline flowers

Rafael Cruz Slams Trump and Evangelicals Who Vote for Him
« on: February 25, 2016, 10:04:28 pm »
http://www.mediaite.com/online/rafael-cruz-slams-trump-and-evangelicals-who-vote-for-him/

The question was a great one because Cruz’s son Ted Cruz is running for president and was expected to dominate the Evangelical vote. Trump has somehow ended up doing that in spite of insults to the community and a demonstrated lack of ecclesiastical know-how. Because of this, Cruz was all too ready with his answer:

Well, I think that they’re defining evangelicals in a very loose manner. If we look at the numbers, those that are people that call themselves born-again Christians that are committed to the lord, we won overwhelmingly among that group. Unfortunately — and this is a message that I have been carrying to America, as you said, for several years — there are too many people in the church that have actually become lax about the word of God, that they are being more concerned with being politically correct than being biblically correct, they have diluted the word of God in order to be palatable to everyone.

Questioning someone’s faith didn’t work well for Pope Francis or for Jeb Bush, but it has been a winning strategy for Trump, so maybe the older Cruz is onto something here. Then again, Trump has already

Offline Longiron

Re: Rafael Cruz Slams Trump and Evangelicals Who Vote for Him
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2016, 10:34:13 pm »

Offline truth_seeker

• Common Sense Results Oriented Conservative Veteran
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2016, 10:51:09 pm »
If Sen. Cruz had better judgment, he would have kept his father, Glenn Beck, his campaign manager and communications director entirely out of his campaign.

None have helped him. But I think this lack of judgment and managerial ability is good to get out in the open.