Author Topic: Obama wants community college to be free  (Read 1783 times)

Offline jmyrlefuller

• J. Myrle Fuller
  • Cat Mod
  • Realistic nihilist
    • Fullervision
Re: Obama wants community college to be free
« Reply #25 on: January 09, 2015, 03:57:10 pm »
Maybe it was just my major (it required a great deal of specialized coursework), but what I saw in college was that if you were in a four-year institution you could (and often had to if your major was a STEM field, the kind of field they seem to love to push these days) take some of the higher-level (junior and senior level) courses during your sophomore year. Most community colleges don't offer those courses and even if they did, they generally wouldn't transfer them.

I took a couple of community college courses in high school (I was a somewhat advanced student, far from best in my class but good enough to qualify) that transferred without a problem.
New profile picture in honor of Public Domain Day 2024

Offline Relic

« Reply #26 on: January 09, 2015, 04:05:32 pm »
Maybe it was just my major (it required a great deal of specialized coursework), but what I saw in college was that if you were in a four-year institution you could (and often had to if your major was a STEM field, the kind of field they seem to love to push these days) take some of the higher-level (junior and senior level) courses during your sophomore year. Most community colleges don't offer those courses and even if they did, they generally wouldn't transfer them.

I took a couple of community college courses in high school (I was a somewhat advanced student, far from best in my class but good enough to qualify) that transferred without a problem.