Author Topic: Trump to Jilted GOP: Inaction Led to Deal With Dems.  (Read 3825 times)

Offline Free Vulcan

• Technical
  • Ah, the air is so much fresher here...
Trump to Jilted GOP: Inaction Led to Deal With Dems.
« on: September 08, 2017, 03:13:16 pm »
President Donald Trump on Friday delivered a message to congressional Republicans, essentially telling them their inaction led him to cut a deal with Democrats this week.

Amid GOP members’ collective frustration-venting in public this week about Trump’s decision to cut a deal with Senate Minority Leader Charles E. Schumer, D-New York, and House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-California, Trump used a series of tweets to explain his choice — and give his fellow Republicans some instructions for the fall legislative session.

“Republicans, sorry, but I’ve been hearing about Repeal & Replace for 7 years, didn’t happen!” Trump tweeted, openly criticizing his own party and again showing his frustration with Republicans’ inability to get a bill through the Senate that would have partially repealed and replaced Barack Obama’s 2010 health care law.

Trump also used the Senate’s rules to justify his decision to strike a deal that led Senate leaders to attach a three-month debt ceiling suspension and three-month government-funding bill to a Hurricane Harvey relief bill and send it to the House. (It is slated for a final vote in that chamber around midday Friday.)

He called the Senate's legislative 60-vote threshold a "Repub Death Wish!” The president wrote the rule will “never allow the Republicans to pass even great legislation. 8 Dems control - will rarely get 60 (vs. 51) votes.”

Read more at: http://www.rollcall.com/news/politics/trump-to-jilted-gop-inaction-led-to-deal-with-dems
The Republic is lost.

Offline Cripplecreek

• Constitutional Extremist
Re: Trump to Jilted GOP: Inaction Led to Deal With Dems.
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 03:14:37 pm »
Pathetic b***h of a president.

Offline Sanguine

• Ex-member