Author Topic: Baltimore's Francis Scott Key Bridge Collapses (Hit by a ship)  (Read 12040 times)

Offline the OlLine Rebel

Re: Baltimore's Francis Scott Key Bridge Collapses (Hit by a ship)
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2024, 02:32:56 pm »
Ok, local here.  I’m about a half hour away.  Didn’t know about this until this morning.  6:30 I heard radio guys talking as if something closed the bridge.  Didn’t think much of it.  Then wake up later 9:30 hear a ship hit the Key and brought it down.

First off, enough with the 2nd-guessing the engineering, etc.  I was an engineer, though not civil, just mechanical.  Simply speaking you can only design for so much.  World Trade Center wasn’t designed for large airplanes full of fuel deliberately charging for it.  The piers are a “key” structure for a bridge.  Bring it down and likely the whole thing comes down.  Who cares about the timing?  This was a truss bridge, not a suspension.  Either way, the manner it is designed, supported, and hit with what huge thing can affect how quickly it all falls.  There are so many factors.  Why call everyone into doubt?

Terrorism?  No way.  Just a huge ship, not at all uncommon here, losing its way and having massive momentum, and exerting massive force when it hits.

The film comes from several points which film in that direction.  I can’t remember if they said Ft. Smallwood or Ft. Armistead.  There is also supposed to be helicopter footage.  I think you can see it going by just before the collapse.