Author Topic: VERDICT returned in E. Jean Carroll defamation case v. Donald Trump  (Read 3309 times)

Offline Right_in_Virginia

Re: VERDICT returned in E. Jean Carroll defamation case v. Donald Trump
« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2023, 11:50:50 pm »
Greg Price
@greg_price11

Manhattan jury rejects E. Jean Carroll's claim that Donald Trump raped her.

Same Manhattan jury then finds Trump liable for defamation for saying that he didn't rape her.

🤪

3:46 PM · May 9, 2023

Offline LMAO

« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2023, 12:02:50 am »
What is the defamation of character that’s been alleged here?

And I’m not a lawyer, but don’t you have to show where the defamation of character caused harm?
I have little interest in streamlining government or in making it more efficient, for I mean to reduce its size. I do not undertake to promote welfare, for I propose to extend freedom. My aim is not to pass laws, but to repeal them.

Barry Goldwater

http://www.usdebtclock.org

My Avatar is my adult autistic son Tommy

Offline libertybele

« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2023, 12:51:54 am »

And I’m not a lawyer, but don’t you have to show where the defamation of character caused harm?

The trial was held in Manhattan where Trump isn't exactly the most popular guy.
Romans 12:16-21

Live in harmony with one another; do not be haughty, but associate with the lowly, do not claim to be wiser than you are.  Do not repay anyone evil for evil, but take thought for what is noble in the sight of all.  If it is possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all…do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

Offline Kamaji

« Reply #28 on: May 10, 2023, 09:07:10 am »

Certain types of defamation are considered per se harmful. 

Offline mountaineer

« Reply #29 on: May 10, 2023, 01:03:12 pm »
E. Jean Carroll’s Original Claims About Trump Were Absurd, But That Didn’t Stop The Media From Amplifying Them
By: Eddie Scarry
May 09, 2023
The Federalist