Author Topic: The Military's Self-Destructing Perception Bubble  (Read 133 times)

Online mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!
The Military's Self-Destructing Perception Bubble
« on: October 05, 2022, 02:11:44 pm »
October 5, 2022
The Military's Self-Destructing Perception Bubble
By Bob Brostoski

During my last few years in the military before I retired in 2020, it was common to hear that "the military-civilian divide is a problem that is getting worse."  Whenever I heard this, it was always in the context that this divide was America's problem.  "The American public doesn't understand the military," or "their kids aren't fit to properly support the military."  There never seemed to be any reflection from the military.  But the military has a serious problem with recruiting now.  Based on the latest reports, the U.S. Army will achieve only 75% of its recruiting goal for 2022.

As a veteran, I follow many military news sources, and over the past two years, the theme has always been the same when it comes to the conversation on military recruiting.  The military's messaging is off, it doesn't provide enough benefits, the job market is too competitive, or it hasn't found the right social media tools to reach the young generation.  What's commonly left out of many of these articles is politics and a "woke" military.  When and if discussed, in many of these articles, which are usually written by typical media elites or military people who can't see out of the bubble, this is dismissed.