Author Topic: Modern Sporting Rifles as Bear Stoppers? They Worked in Every Recorded Incident  (Read 957 times)

Online Elderberry

• TBR Contributor
Ammoland by Dean Weingarten 2/6/2021

Before I graduated from high school, I overheard the older brother of a close friend talking about shooting a bear. The bear had been discovered in a den, during the Wisconsin deer season. As I recall, in 1968, such a harvest would have been legal.

The older brother was a Vietnam veteran. He approached the den with another vet. The brother suggested the other vet poke into the den to see if the bear were still there.

The other veteran said no, he would not do it. The brother said, well, in Vietnam, you went into holes to get Charlie.

Whereupon, the other veteran said: yes, but I had a different rifle then. (speaking of the M16).

He considered the M16 a superior gun for close-range bear defense than the common 30-30, whether Winchester 94 or Marlin 336.

At the time, I thought it strange someone would prefer a .223 semi-automatic rifle to a 30-30 or larger caliber rifle.

50 years and considerable time investigating actual defensive shootings of bears later, my opinion has become less certain.

Of the defensive bear shootings I have found, four of them were with rifles reasonably characterized as semi-automatic civilian versions of popular military rifles.

More: https://www.ammoland.com/2021/02/modern-sporting-rifles-as-bear-stoppers-they-worked-in-every-recorded-incident/

Offline sneakypete

• Twitter is for Twits
It is theoretically possible to kill a bear with a single shot from a pistol loaded with 22 shorts.

Preferably with a shot to the eye socket while the bear is sleeping.

I'm not quite that sporting. I want nothing less than a 375 H%H Magnum if given a preference,but would take some sort of semi-auto chambered in 30 caliber like the M-14,FN-FAL,etc,etc,etc,or mo betta,a M1 Garand in 30/06. Even mo betta than that,a BAR in 30/06.