Author Topic: Eight Ways to Smash, not Just Flatten, the Coronavirus Curve  (Read 382 times)

Offline TomSea

• All deserve a trial if accused
Eight Ways to Smash, not Just Flatten, the Coronavirus Curve
« on: April 04, 2020, 06:07:44 pm »
Eight Ways to Smash, not Just Flatten, the Coronavirus Curve
Susan M Malinowski, MD

As a surgeon, I sometimes deliver bad news. The reactions are predictable: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and, eventually, acceptance. Dr. Elizabeth Kubler-Ross in her classic 1969 book, “On Death and Dying,” described how we transition across these stages of grief when we receive bad news. I see the coronavirus pandemic forcing our nation along a similar journey, but we can’t languish — we must get to the final stage, acceptance, so we can act and minimize harm. We are clearly not there yet.

On January 23, 2020 Wuhan, China was quarantined. I remember hearing the news and realized this was the biggest story of the decade, if not the century. Yet the lockdown of Wuhan was sandwiched between stories of therapy animals on planes and whether Superbowl Sunday should be moved to Saturdays.

On February 3, 2020 I presented to a corporate investment committee giving my perspective, as a doctor, on why Covid19, then only in China, would cripple the US, if not the world. I predicted that the virus would spread to Europe and the US and suggested selling equities and shifting into cash. I explained the Kubler-Ross stages of grieving, and how our country and most of the world was in denial. Most in the room looked at me like I was Henny Penny saying the sky was falling. I tried to tell my doctor friends — many of them laughed at me and said I was an alarmist. My friends would not listen. I tried to prepare as best as I could on my own.

Read more at: https://medium.com/@smmalinowski/eight-ways-to-smash-not-just-flatten-the-coronavirus-curve-d7b27167d28f

Offline libertybele

Re: Eight Ways to Smash, not Just Flatten, the Coronavirus Curve