Author Topic: Government set to borrow nearly $1 trillion this year, an 84 percent jump from last year  (Read 1135 times)

Offline Suppressed

Government set to borrow nearly $1 trillion this year, an 84 percent jump from last year
Heather Long, The Washington Post | on February 3, 2018
http://m.sfgate.com/news/article/Government-set-to-borrow-nearly-1-trillion-this-12549659.php

It was another crazy news week, so it's understandable if you missed a small but important announcement from the Treasury Department: The federal government is on track to borrow nearly $1 trillion this fiscal year - President Donald Trump's first full year in charge of the budget.

[...]
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Oceander

So much for fiscal responsibility. 

Offline Suppressed

"I'm the king of debt. I love debt!"  --Donald Trump
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Applewood

I suppose much of that borrowing will be squandered under the guise of "fixing the infrastructure."
« Last Edit: February 04, 2018, 06:40:45 pm by Applewood »

Oceander

I suppose much of that borrowing will be squandered under the guise of "fixing the infrastructure."

This is borrowing to fund already existing operations.  Any infrastructure funding would be on top of this.

Offline Applewood