Author Topic: Study: Guys With More Testosterone Don’t Like "Sophisticated" Music  (Read 3145 times)

Offline Suppressed

+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline WingNot

• Resident TBR Curmudgeon
Re: Study: Guys With More Testosterone Don’t Like "Sophisticated" Music
« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2018, 07:10:05 pm »

That sumbitch couldn't hold a skinflute to The musical stylings of Boxcar Willie.

"I'm a man, but I changed, because I had to. Oh well."

Offline sneakypete

• Twitter is for Twits
« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2018, 08:16:23 pm »
Yes, those bands had a huge influence on pop music, it's still being felt.

However: Lyrics are not music. They're poetry. The Melody those Lyrics are set to is music.

@To-Whose-Benefit? 

You are splitting hairs. You mention Somewhere Over the Rainbow further down,but give a listen to this rendition of the song by Israel "IZ" Kamakawiwoʻole,that is pared down to just his voice and his ukulele,and try to tell me that voice isn't creating musical magic.

Israel "IZ" Kamakawiwoʻole

When you chart out the Chord Changes of those songs: IE: I, IV, V, IV, etc. Bach covered all of that and a lot more centuries ago.

So what? He didn't invent them. They have existed since the dawn of time. He just ARRANGED them in a way that was better than most others.

Look at the Lyrics on Top of the Music to Somewhere Over The Rainbow.

That tune's lasted so well over time because it's got it All.

Anyone who can listen to any respectable rendition of that tune and not be moved by it doesn't have a soul.
[/size][/b]

No question about that. Regardless of what type of music is your favorite,you are going to like that.