Author Topic: People are about to start dumping cable faster than ever before  (Read 3245 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: People are about to start dumping cable faster than ever before
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2017, 01:39:43 pm »
The problem is that content is becoming fragmented as it moves out to these individual providers, requiring someone to have multiple subscriptions.  So we're going to see a second-wave fragmentation.  Where Netflix used to be good, now you'll have to have Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and the other new ones popping up. 
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline massadvj

• Editorial Advisor
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2017, 01:48:34 pm »
Streaming video is definitely causing cord-cutting, but cable TV revenues are not yet reflecting it.  They are up this year, as they have been every year since the industry began.  Why?  The industry is losing revenues from pay services such as HBO, Starz and Encore.  But most subscribers are not leaving basic cable, and revenues from broadband internet ISP are going through the roof as consumers of streaming services want fast internet.

Cord-cutting represents a shift for the industry, but not its demise.  At least not yet.

Offline IsailedawayfromFR

« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2017, 09:04:48 pm »
This is about more than the NFL now.   This is about finally starting to stand up to the Leftist infiltration of all of our institutions in the media and academia,  the NFL is just the beginning.
the unpatriotiSM  shown By the NFL will greatly accelerate the demise of cable.

Most folks only take cable for the sports.

Sports not needed, neither is cable.