Author Topic: Massachusetts texting suicide verdict; woman found guilty of manslaughter  (Read 3411 times)

Offline Suppressed

Many suicide attempts are calls for help.   Most expressions of a desire to commit suicide are calls for help.

It's not like this was a parasuicidal attempt.

He had a history of suicide attempts.  It's not like he hadn't had "help".

Sadly, in some cases, we aren't that good at overcoming such things as depression.  Often, there is no successful "help". 
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline driftdiver

• I could eat it raw but why when I have fire
It's not like this was a parasuicidal attempt.

He had a history of suicide attempts.  It's not like he hadn't had "help".

Sadly, in some cases, we aren't that good at overcoming such things as depression.  Often, there is no successful "help".

So?  Is that supposed to excuse this and turn her into a good human being?
Fools mock, tongues wag, babies cry and goats bleat.

Offline bigheadfred

• One day Closer
He's expressed a desire to die.  She was helping him to reach his goal, encouraging him when he faltered.

*Many* suicide attempts are aborted, or fail from intervention.  ...And those people very often try again and succeed.  She helped him reach his goal in a first attempt, like a coach.

Right. And as it being a team effort a lot of the onus for the success of the failure is on the coach's shoulders.
She asked me name my foe then. I said the need within some men to fight and kill their brothers without thought of Love or God. Ken Hensley

Offline truth_seeker

• Common Sense Results Oriented Conservative Veteran