Author Topic: The Whole DAM situation (Tallest dam in US), deteriorating spillway causes lots of anxiety (UPDATE: Evacuations Ordered)  (Read 17200 times)

Offline Suppressed

Why would this dam be a federal project?  It was built for California Water Supply and electric power.

They petitioned to have it added as a requirement of relicensing.
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Cripplecreek

• Constitutional Extremist
Why would this dam be a federal project?  It was built for California Water Supply and electric power.

I don't know about the dam at Oroville but a lot of dams, locks, canals etc are under the jurisdiction of the army corps of engineers. The USACE oversaw the rebuild the dam here where I live as well as one near where I grew up. In fact if I want to put in a permenant dock, I have to send plans and an application to the USACE for approval.

That said, I can't find any connection to the USACE in the case of the Oroville dam.

Oceander

It requires permits from the USACE because it's affecting so-called "waters of the United States" which pretty much covers most significant water resources. 

http://www.nwp.usace.army.mil/Missions/Regulatory/Jurisdiction.aspx

Offline thackney

It requires permits from the USACE because it's affecting so-called "waters of the United States" which pretty much covers most significant water resources. 

Thank you.  So the Feds can set minimum requirements, but there was no reason the State Agency overseeing and paying for the work could not have decided to make the emergency spillway contain more concrete farther down the slope.
Life is fragile, handle with prayer

Offline Cripplecreek