Poll

Should the Electoral College be replaced by popular vote in Presidential Elections?

No. Keep the Electoral College and leave the current system as it is.
32 (74.4%)
No. Keep the Electoral College but force all states to distribute their votes proportionally among the candidates.
11 (25.6%)
Yes. The Presidential election should be decided by popular vote. The Electoral College should be disbanded.
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 39

Voting closed: November 09, 2016, 03:51:15 pm

Author Topic: Poll: Should the Electoral College be replaced by popular vote in Presidential Elections? (members only)  (Read 9343 times)

Offline dfwgator

So what happens if the National vote margin to within say, a thousand votes.

How are you going to do a recount, when there are over 150+ million votes to go through?   

Offline Suppressed

Should the World Series go to the team with the most total runs, even if they lose all but one game?
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline truth_seeker

• Common Sense Results Oriented Conservative Veteran
As I understand it the EC leaves states with the freedom, to allocate their votes as they see fit.

Nebraska and Maine currently use "proportional," last I checked.

There is a good chance that "winner-take-all" is the issue, not the EC.
"God must love the common man, he made so many of them.�  Abe Lincoln

Online Cyber Liberty

• Coffee! Donuts! Kittens!
  • Administrator
  • 🌵🌵🌵
As I understand it the EC leaves states with the freedom, to allocate their votes as they see fit.

Nebraska and Maine currently use "proportional," last I checked.

There is a good chance that "winner-take-all" is the issue, not the EC.