Author Topic: Auto Lease Negotiating Tips  (Read 962 times)

Oceander

Auto Lease Negotiating Tips
« on: October 23, 2016, 02:43:42 am »
I'm looking for some suggestions on tips and tricks I might want to consider when negotiating a lease on a new car.

So, I'm planning on leasing a new car shortly.  I've done the pros/cons analysis, and a lease is the better choice at this point in time.  I know exactly what I'm looking for:  a 2017 VW Passat R-Line, in white, with no added options, on a 36 month, 10k miles per year lease (I've been tracking the miles we drive on our current car for the last two years and we pretty consistently run about 8,000 to 8,500 miles per year).

I've also done my research on the basics of the leasing system: the "magic" numbers - money factor and residual value, and how the components of the monthly price are determined, and I've found a decent source for the current values that VW is using (RV pctg of 52% for a 36/10, a money factor of 0.00015, and lease cash of $1,750).