Author Topic: Trump Details Student Loan Policies, 15 Year Forgiveness Program  (Read 2923 times)

Offline Sanguine

• Ex-member
Re: Trump Details Student Loan Policies, 15 Year Forgiveness Program
« Reply #25 on: October 14, 2016, 06:17:35 pm »
I could almost  get behind a plan like this if the next clause said "and, the Federal Government will never again exceed its authority by lending taxpayers' money out".

Offline rodamala

« Reply #26 on: October 14, 2016, 06:19:24 pm »

Online Weird Tolkienish Figure

• Technical
« Reply #27 on: October 14, 2016, 06:21:32 pm »
Remember that Obama fan who in 2008 was psyched that she wouldn't have to pay her bills anymore because Obama would be President?

Wonder how she's doing?

Offline rodamala

« Reply #28 on: October 14, 2016, 06:23:30 pm »
My parents didn't have to pay for a dime of my college, both undergrad and masters. I had a 4 year ROTC scholarship, and I earned my masters while in the Army. I paid for my room and board via my summer job, two summers as a firefighter for the CA Div of Forestry.

My wife worked through college, and we met when she started working in my section at Fort Bliss.

We helped our daughter through college, though not all of it. My oldest son was never the studious type, and he never got past his associate's degree, though he's going back to school next month.

I'm down to my 14 YO son, who makes noises about a goal to attend a service academy. Based on his recent (lack of) performance, I think he needs a reminder. We have sufficient assets to cover the costs at most colleges, but he's going to have to earn it.

I'm also making plans for my 6 YO grandson, who is a really sharp kid. I just hope I'm around long enough to see those plans through.