Author Topic: No, Tulsa Cops Didn’t Shoot A Black Man With His Hands Up  (Read 7589 times)

Offline Suppressed

Re: No, Tulsa Cops Didn’t Shoot A Black Man With His Hands Up
« Reply #50 on: September 22, 2016, 03:09:01 am »
In reality cops face a far greater threat from traffic accidents than from violence.

In large part because of the caution they use in encounters!

Besides, many jobs have lower death rates than from traffic accidents, but we don't say "take the safety guards off that machinery...a few extra deaths is fine, as long as it's not higher than traffic accidents!"
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Suppressed

« Reply #51 on: September 22, 2016, 03:19:16 am »
I have two nephews who are street cops, and they tell me every time I see them they just don't understand the new generation of gun-happy police.

It might seem totally unrelated, but the blame for this goes back to liberal judges, legislators, and Executives, and the bleeding-heart supporters who enable them.

It used to be that most criminals knew not to shoot at cops, as there were severe consequences.  As death penalties and other harsh penalties were removed*, criminals became more brazen.  They also upgunned.

No longer could a cop in shirt sleeves serve a warrant without facing a hail of bullets.  Thus, the cops became more armored/better armed/more cautious.  It's no wonder that people (cops are people) who want to survive the day will be more likely to shoot.

*I know of a judge who would say from the bench that it was cops' job to get attacked and injured!

+++++++++