Author Topic: It isn't often that a single graphic is worthy of it's own thread but this one is!  (Read 1709 times)

Offline aligncare

I would be so out of my depth in this argument. I am not a lawyer. But, if I woke up one day and found I was... I'd blow my brains out. That's how much love I have for the legal profession, circa 2016.

For the lawyers out there, tough! You can't sue me for my opinion.  :tongue2:

Offline Luis Gonzalez

• Boiling Frogs
But nowhere will you find George Mason saying that ANY court should be the sole arbiter of what is or is not Constitutional!

Are you friggin' blind?

"They could declare an unconstitutional law void." - George Mason

I guess Congress could come to the conclusion that a law they themselves enacted was unconstitutional, then overturn it, or that a law passed by an earlier Congress was unconstitutional and overturn it.

But if that doesn't happen, the the people have the power to challenge the law in the Courts, and the Courts have the power to void the law.
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, i have others." - Groucho Marx

Offline Bigun

• Resistance to Tyrants is Obedience to God
    • The FairTax Plan
Come on man, engage your intellect.

If every Court decision ois just an unenforceable "opinion" that carries no weight, why have Courts at all?!

"The judicial power shall extend to all cases, in law and equity, arising under this constitution…" — Article III of The United States Constitution

What power?

The power to render an unenforceable, powerless, meaningless opinion?

SCOTUS - "In our opinion, that law is unconstitutional."

Congress - "*%^#$ you and your opinion!"

SCOTUS - "-------."

Good Lord man!

Make some sense!

You are going very far afield now Luis!  The Courts are there to settle matters of LAW. That is a very different thing than saying what the law IS!
"I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo.