Author Topic: Obituaries for 2016  (Read 143298 times)

Silver Pines

Re: Obituaries for 2016
« Reply #950 on: December 27, 2016, 07:05:00 pm »
@Freya

As an EMT, I didn't think she would survive.  For one thing, she was on an extremely long flight and likely she didn't walk on the plane.  Sitting that long on a plane causes blood to collect in the legs/feet and can cause blood clots, especially if the heart is already compromised.  These clots can move to the heart and stop it.

For those of you who fly or have flown overseas to Europe in the past, you likely noted your feet had swelled by the time you touched down overseas or flying back from there.  Her flight was longer than flying from central US or the east coast to or back from Europe.  I don't recall the country she left but did note it was a longer flight to California than the east coast or central US.  Blood clots was my first thought when I heard her heart stopped.

@Victoria33

About three years ago I was diagnosed with a DVT (blood clot in the leg).  I had none of the risk factors, and they never found out what caused it---the closest they could come was a folic acid deficiency.  At the final visit when the doctor let me go, he said that if I take an overseas flight I'll have to treat myself with a blood thinner---injection into the stomach---before the flight, as a precaution.

It's extremely important to move around during a flight, and to stay well hydrated.

Offline musiclady

« Reply #951 on: December 27, 2016, 07:15:51 pm »
Carrie Fisher dies, age 60

Details on her thread here.

60 is WAY too young.......  **nononono*
Character still matters.  It always matters.

I wear a mask as an exercise in liberty and love for others.  To see it as an infringement of liberty is to entirely miss the point.  Be kind.