Author Topic: RANKING THE GOP CANDIDATES FOR 2016 (NO, THE DONALD IS NOT NO. 1) By - The Washington Times  (Read 1578 times)

Offline mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!
http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/jun/29/ranking-gop-candidates-2016-no-donald-not-no-1/print/

RANKING THE GOP CANDIDATES FOR 2016 (NO, THE DONALD IS NOT NO. 1)
By - The Washington Times - Monday, June 29, 2015

Another day, another Republican enters the race for the 2016 GOP presidential nomination. There are now so many -- a baker's dozen, perhaps more if another has entered the race while you've been reading this -- and three more are expected to announce in the coming days.

So to keep track of the lot, I've compiled this handy primer on the race (and just like everyone in Washington, D.C., I'm an expert on politics [although I really have covered politics Inside the Beltway for 25 years, so trust me]).

Let's start with the longshots and work up to the Top 5.

16: Donald Trump. Seriously, he's running. In his announcement speech, he said "I" 195 times, and also declared "I'm really rich." Sure, he's just looking for some media coverage in between tapings of his horrible TV show, but his message of common sense -- and his disgust for politics as usual -- is resonating with some. Still, he'll be out of the race in no time and back to his golf courses.

15: Lindsey Graham. Never mind.

14: Bobby Jindal. The Indian-American governor of Louisiana was the talk of the town in 2012, but this time around he barely registers in the polls. And he's a throwback to the socialphobic Establishment candidates of the past (he thinks schools should decide whether to teach evolution and his head nearly exploded after the Supreme Court gay marriage ruling). Jockeying for a veep slot.