Author Topic: English Teacher: I Won’t Teach Shakespeare Because He’s White  (Read 1103 times)

rangerrebew

English Teacher: I Won’t Teach Shakespeare Because He’s White

Robert Gehl 
June 14, 2015

A California High School English teacher doesn’t plan to teach Shakespeare because he’s white.

In a column in The Washington Post, Sacramento teacher Dana Dusbiber said she avoids plays like Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet because her minority students don’t need to study a “long-dead British guy.”

Obsessed with the fact that Shakespeare is white (so is Dusbiber, by the way), Dusbiber can’t fathom why anybody would teach Shakespeare in an English class.

What I worry about is that as long as we continue to cling to ONE (white) MAN’S view of life as he lived it so long ago, we (perhaps unwittingly) promote the notion that other cultural perspectives are less important. In the 25 years that I have been a secondary teacher, I have heard countless times, from respected teachers (mostly white), that they will ALWAYS teach Shakespeare, because our students need Shakespeare and his teachings on the human condition.

Of course, this can’t have anything to do with the personal bias Dusbiber has against Shakespeare, could it?

“ … I dislike Shakespeare because of my own personal disinterest in reading stories written in an early form of the English language that I cannot always easily navigate …”

Oh, ok. Dana … Good idea. Take your illiterate inability to understand Shakespeare and foist that on your schoolchildren.

Genius.

http://downtrend.com/robertgehl/english-teacher-i-wont-teach-shakespeare-because-hes-white
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 11:17:57 am by rangerrebew »

Offline DCPatriot

• "...and the winning number is...not yours!
Re: English Teacher: I Won’t Teach Shakespeare Because He’s White
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2015, 11:49:15 am »
 Betcha she couldn't even spell 'Shakespeare'.   :laugh: