Author Topic: GOP's new refrain: 'Not a scientist'  (Read 355 times)

Offline mystery-ak

• Owner
  • Administrator
  • Let's Go Brandon!
GOP's new refrain: 'Not a scientist'
« on: January 04, 2015, 01:22:05 am »
http://thehill.com/policy/energy-environment/228053-for-gop-a-new-refrain-im-not-a-scientist

By Timothy Cama - 01/03/15 04:08 PM EST
High-profile Republicans converged this year around a new favorite refrain when it comes to climate change: “I’m not a scientist.”

Party leaders and candidates for office repeated variations of the theme throughout the year when asked whether manmade climate change is happening and what should be done about it.
“What I have said repeatedly is I’m not a scientist,” Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (Ky.) told a Kentucky sports radio show.

“I’m not qualified to debate the science over climate change,” Speaker John Boehner (Ohio) said of the Obama administration’s climate rule for power plants.

“I’d leave it to the scientists to decide how much, what it means, and what the consequences are,” Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, considered a contender for the White House in 2016, said when asked how much human activity is changing the planet’s climate.

“I don’t know the science behind climate change,” Sen.-elect Joni Ernst (Iowa) said in a debate.

Sen. Marco Rubio (Fla.), another 2016 contender, may have been one of the earliest Republicans to use the line in 2012.

GOP strategists and observers say the line is ripe for mockery, given that politicians are expected to take positions on a whole host of issues without training in a given field.

Still, they said the refrain is as an important placeholder for candidates as the party grapples with its stance on climate change in the face of deep conservative skepticism.

“It sounds like one of the most nonsensical GOP talking points in quite some time,” said Ford O’Connell, a GOP strategist who advised Sen. John McCain’s (Ariz.) 2008 campaign for president.