Author Topic: Leaked document shows Trump officials planning to force Americans to spend $311m-$11.8b/year to keep  (Read 1003 times)

Offline Suppressed

Leaked document shows Trump officials planning to force Americans to spend $311m-$11.8b/year to keep unprofitable coal and nuclear energy plants from shutting
CORY DOCTOROW / 9:45 AM SAT JUN 2, 2018
https://boingboing.net/2018/06/02/defense-production-act.html

Officials in Trump's Department of Energy prepared a plan to use unprecedented "emergency powers" to force the US grid to rely on expensive, unprofitable coal and nuclear power, rather than paying market rates for cheaper sources of energy: renewables and natural gas.

The plan will cost Americans an additional $311,000,000 - $11,800,000,000/year according to estimates from researchers at Energy Innovation and the Climate Policy Initiative.

[...]
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline RoosGirl

Power from renewables is cheaper?

Offline Cyber Liberty

• Coffee! Donuts! Kittens!
  • Administrator
  • 🌵🌵🌵
Power from renewables is cheaper?

Shhh!  It's Boing Boing....
For unvaccinated, we are looking at a winter of severe illness and death — if you’re unvaccinated — for themselves, their families, and the hospitals they’ll soon overwhelm. Sloe Joe Biteme 12/16
I will NOT comply.

Castillo del Cyber Autonomous Zone ~~~~~>                          :dontfeed:

Offline WingNot

• Resident TBR Curmudgeon
"I'm a man, but I changed, because I had to. Oh well."

Offline endicom

Offline IsailedawayfromFR

I have not seen this group issue similar researchers' report on why the govt is funding unprofitable renewable power generation.