Author Topic: 97 year-old Canadian Veteran and his thoughts after watching the movie "Dunkirk"  (Read 1098 times)

Offline Suppressed

97 year-old Canadian Veteran and his thoughts after watching the movie "Dunkirk"
by undercovergiraffe18 hr

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=at5uUvRkxZ0
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline kidd

I saw Dunkirk yesterday.

You are either going to hate it or love it. Count me as loving it.

First, there is no CGI. That alone is refreshing.
Second, it is authentic. Filmed at Dunkirk. Used boats that actually were at Dunkirk. And real dogfights.

It is the viewpoints from three different people: on the land, the sea and the air. It covers three personal aspects that were part of the entire operation: fear (the land guy), dedication (the sea guy) and bravery (the air guy). The land guy went through many fearful encounters. But his fear wasn't cowardice - he was innovative.
It is pure action, from start to finish. No side stories. No character development. Yet, it is an intelligent movie.
The dogfight scenes are AMAZING. I found myself leaning in my seat to try and steer the planes to line up a shot.

Why might you hate it?
- the plot line isn't linear. It is three different points of view that all connect with each other. But not in chronological order. Think of it as three different movies mixed together.
- there is little dialogue and some of what there is, is hard to understand because of background noise. Welcome to war.