Author Topic: The Future of AI: Singularity  (Read 550 times)

Offline LateForLunch

• GOTWALMA Get Out of the Way and Leave Me Alone! (Nods to Teebone)
The Future of AI: Singularity
« on: March 23, 2017, 03:45:58 pm »
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Technological_singularity

Recently the question came up on another thread about what might happen if and when artificial (machine) intelligence achieves a level of sophistication where the machine is so efficient and intellectually superior that it takes part in generating improvements to enhance its own functionality.

I have had some interesting discussions with a close relative who is a computer expert by profession (with a minor degree in neurology) about the topic of AI.

I'd like to share with all of you what he shared with me about his understanding of our current state of affairs regarding AI.

One of the first things to understand is that the human brain is an organic machine which performs on average about 20 billion FLOPS (FLoating-point Operations Per Second). FLOPS may be described as the quantum form (the smallest unit) of machine "intelligence".

Even though human brains operate differently than thinking machines, the elementary functional nature of both may be defined in terms of FLOPS. The more FLOPS performed, the "smarter" the brain.

There are already thinking machines which perform far more than 20 billion FLOPS. If so, then why aren't they already "smarter" than human brains, which only manage about 20 billion? The answer is in the difference between a linear and an associative computation/circuit.

Digital computers function vastly different than human brains. When a computer circuit processes data, what actually takes place is that a long string of numbers is generated (in the binary code system as a stream of 1s and zeros) and the end result is a numerical representation of an "answer".
A human brain is required to interpret that numerical "answer" to impart meaning and value to it.