Author Topic: Meet Sesame Street's First Character with Autism: 'We Want to Create Greater Awareness and Empathy'  (Read 967 times)

Offline Suppressed

Meet Sesame Street's First Character with Autism: 'We Want to Create Greater Awareness and Empathy'
BY ROSE MINUTAGLIO•@ROSEMINUTAGLIO
POSTED ON OCTOBER 21, 2015 AT 9:25AM EDT
http://people.com/celebrity/sesame-street-introduces-first-character-with-autism/

Fuzzy favorites Grover, Abby and Elmo are joined by their newest muppet pal, Julia, a character with autism, in Sesame Street Workshop‘s new nationwide initiative.

Launched Wednesday morning, Sesame Street and Autism: See Amazing in All Children aims to reduce “the stigma of autism” with the introduction of the first muppet with autism.

Excerpt.  Read more at http://people.com/celebrity/sesame-street-introduces-first-character-with-autism/
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Gefn

• "And though she be but little she is fierce"-Shakespeare
  • Cat Mod
  • Quos Deus Vult Perdere Prius Dementat
I saw this on 60 minutes

As someone with autism I applaud this, even though I stopped watching Sesame Street several decades ago.
G-d bless America. G-d bless us all                                 

Adopt a puppy or kitty from your local shelter
Or an older dog or cat. They're true love❤️

Offline jmyrlefuller

• J. Myrle Fuller
  • Realistic nihilist
    • Fullervision
I saw this on 60 minutes

As someone with autism I applaud this, even though I stopped watching Sesame Street several decades ago.