Author Topic: Long ago, far away I wrote a song for a Hendrix/ELP band.  (Read 1728 times)

Offline LateForLunch

• GOTWALMA Get Out of the Way and Leave Me Alone! (Nods to Teebone)
Long ago, far away I wrote a song for a Hendrix/ELP band.
« on: December 11, 2016, 07:09:13 pm »
I am an amateur guitarist. I have studied classical, jazz and rock/blues, played trumpet, French horn in the band orchestra in high school and played in several rock bands of various styles for the kicks (using mostly Les Paul, Strat and ES-series Gibson's as my choice in guitars). I was only serious about guitar in the sense that I paid attention to serious song-writers and musicians, played and practiced long enough to get blisters on three of the fingers on my left hand numbing the tips forever and avoided pop or fads like the plague. One of my neighborhood friends (Audie Desbrow) went off to become the drummer of Great White (pre Station Fire, thank God). I have lost touch with him so fans please don't ask for autographs or tickets. I wrote a some number of song lyrics some with music some without. I have mostly kept them to myself. The death of ELPs Greg Lake got me to thinkin' and I went back in to my files and found some lyrics to a song I was working on that I had forgotten about. I remember I wrote it when I heard about Hendrix speaking in an interview about possibly collaborating with ELP. That was what I had in mind when I wrote the following:

Working Title: Uphill Climb

See my mind
Reflected in the eyes of a woman-of-the-world
Paradise don’t feel like it’s my world.

Runnin’ free ain’t nuthin’
Nuthin' like it used to be
No friends found no friends when I’m risin’!! 

I can’t relate at all (can you dig why)
Someone tell me why tell me lies!!
Tell me everything!!
Why does it feel so unreal, baby
Why does the uphill climb
Feel like I’m fallin’ straight down !?!

(Chorus)

Give me everything
Tell me why
The uphill climb feels like I’m fallin’ down
Tell me Tell me Tell me