• Owner
  • Administrator
« on: March 29, 2014, 04:51:50 PM »

Support the USO

Offline EC

• Shanghaied Editor
  • Cats rule. Dogs drool.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2014, 04:59:46 PM »
Well said. You are in charge, you are bloody well in charge.

The odd closed eye at infractions is fine - stressed out people like to party REALLY hard once the stress is off again - something every officer gets smacked in the face with repeatedly. That's fine. But it gets out of hand if you don't stay on top of it every instant.

The universe doesn't hate you. Unless your name is Tsutomu Yamaguchi

I've got a website now: Smoke and Ink

Offline truth_seeker

• Common Sense Results Oriented Conservative Veteran
    • The place where argument addicts can go
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2014, 06:08:58 PM »
"You can delegate authority, but you cannot delegate responsibility."

I remember emphasis placed on this concept, by a university management professor, back in the day.

If I am a manager, I "authorize" supervisor A. to run a project, I still remain "responsible" for their results.

This is commonly understood in industry, but not in government.

Listen to politicians after politician, government department heads, ducking responsibility and blaming things that go bad, on their own subordinates.

Heads should role in the SS. Careers end if a supervisor drinks or cavorts with loose women during dangerous missions. Period.

Big hits to pensions might create fear, if not respect. But government employment is so protected from realities of the private sector workforce, it probably won't happen.

This author has been a government employee all his career, and I notice he doesn't strike directly at the general incompetence and inefficiency of doing things the government way.

"God must love the common man, he made so many of them.�  Abe Lincoln

Offline Chieftain

• AMF, YOYO
  • Your what hurts??
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2014, 06:18:56 PM »