Author Topic: Anybody have any experience with Roku?  (Read 1037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sinkspur

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 28,691
Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« on: March 01, 2014, 05:39:46 PM »
Have been looking at Roku so we can stream Netflix and stop ordering DVDs.

Is this a reliable product?  Any gotchas to watch out for?
« Last Edit: March 01, 2014, 05:40:16 PM by sinkspur »
Roy Moore's "spiritual warfare" is driving past a junior high without stopping.

Online mountaineer

  • Member
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 36,485
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2014, 06:08:38 PM »
That's been recommended to us, as well. Would like to see what Roku users have to say.
A day without sunshine is like, you know, night.

Offline EC

  • Shanghaied Editor
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 23,836
  • Cats rule. Dogs drool.
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 06:13:14 PM »
Pretty sure both Rap and kevindavis use it. Ping them to here maybe?
The universe doesn't hate you. Unless your name is Tsutomu Yamaguchi

Avatar courtesy of Oceander

I've got a website now: Smoke and Ink

Online truth_seeker

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 19,398
  • Common Sense Results Oriented Conservative Veteran
    • The place where argument addicts can go
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2014, 06:33:36 PM »
Have been looking at Roku so we can stream Netflix and stop ordering DVDs.

Is this a reliable product?  Any gotchas to watch out for?
I have had mine for about 1 1/2 years, without any problems. I have Verizon Fios high speed, and my Roku is used via wireless.

I have also used Netflix streaming for the same time, and it too is without problems.

There are 4 Roku devices, and I would go to the topp 2. You get 1080i and a headphone jack on the remote.

With the Roku there is the continuing option to add more channels, like Amazon prime, Hulu, etc. Some channels are free, some paid, etc.

I have used PBS mostly for Masterpiece, Smithsonian, and a few others. All free ones for me, so far.

I have seen comparisons of Roku to other streaming devices, and it always does well, usually finishes on top.

Roku recently updated their home screen, to include some news items, etc.

Offline katzenjammer

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 2,513
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2014, 06:57:52 PM »
Had mine for about the same time, couple of years, never a problem, easy to setup and use.  Mine connects to the public Internet via wireless to my local router.

(The only thing that bugs me is that the remote is always trying to come on and do something, even when the device is not in use, sort of creeps me out.  It can just be laying there on the table with no one near it or touching it, and it just starts flashing.....)

Plenty of viewing options opening up all the time, free stuff, subs.  (Before I cancelled The Blaze in a fit of anger I used to watch shows on that all of the time.)  And if you are an Amazon Prime customer, they have a boatload of free content available to watch on your Roku as well as some PPV choices as well.

All in all, a pretty neat little device and a good price (I don't remember what mine cost at the time, I got the high end one and remember thinking the price was reasonable).

Offline alicewonders

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 13,057
  • Live life-it's too short to butt heads w buttheads
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2014, 09:49:21 PM »
We have two Roku boxes, the one on the tv I watch is the basic cheapest one and I've had no trouble with it.  You can get lots of channels on it.  We use it for Netflix and The Blaze and we use the Amazon channel to purchase shows to watch.  It was well worth the money. 
Don't tread on me.   8888madkitty

We told you Trump would win - bigly!

Offline Rapunzel

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 71,719
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2014, 10:37:58 PM »
No,  I don't have it.  What I'm mulling over is a Blue Ray player so I can stream Netflix.  A smart TV will as well, but my flat screens are not needing replacement so the blueray is where I may go.

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2014, 10:40:24 PM »
You can probably get by with an HDMI cable.  That's all I use.

Offline Rapunzel

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 71,719
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2014, 10:44:38 PM »
You can probably get by with an HDMI cable.  That's all I use.

To your Dish/DVR?  I already have HDMI cable.

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2014, 08:00:46 AM »
No.  From your laptop directly to your TV.   How old are your flat screens?  Do they have HDMI outlets? 

I even pack my trusty little HDMI so I can stream to hotel TVs when I travel.  ^-^

Offline Oceander

  • Technical
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 47,371
  • Chief Dork
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2014, 08:49:02 AM »
If you have a so-called smart TV you may be able to get netflix directly through your TV via your internet connection.  We got a vizio 42" 6 months ago and it comes pre-set to work with a netflix account.

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2014, 12:44:48 PM »
Unfortunately, like Rapunzel, I don't.   I have one 50" flat screen Sony, circa 2001 or so, and then a 36" one from 2009 that at least has an HDMI outlet on it, so I can stream to that TV.   Both work so well that I'm not going to replace them. 

Offline AbaraXas

  • ?? ??????? ?????
  • Social Media Advisor
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 13,213
  • Words full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #12 on: March 02, 2014, 12:54:28 PM »
I've used it for years and like it so much, I've bought them for family with Netflix subscriptions.

Online andy58-in-nh

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,169
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #13 on: March 02, 2014, 01:22:10 PM »
I have had my Roku 3 for about 1 1/2 years now and I really like it - lots of channels, of various quality and utility, but you get Amazon movies, Hulu Plus, VUDU and Netflix, as well as the Blaze, all in 1080p. The menus are far more navigable than they used to be, as well. Well worth the price. 
Liberalism isn't really about making the world a better place. It's about reassuring the elites that they are good people for wanting to rule over it.

Offline Rapunzel

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 71,719
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #14 on: March 02, 2014, 03:32:30 PM »
No.  From your laptop directly to your TV.   How old are your flat screens?  Do they have HDMI outlets? 

I even pack my trusty little HDMI so I can stream to hotel TVs when I travel.  ^-^

Yes, they both have HDMI outlets, I have an HDMI cord running from my DVR to the Vizio in my office and the one in the bedroom gets it's connection from this DVR - but is newer and also had a HDMI outlet.  So, I'd have to run a cord from my computer across the room to the TV and that is all I'd need to do?

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2014, 07:55:48 PM »
Yes, they both have HDMI outlets, I have an HDMI cord running from my DVR to the Vizio in my office and the one in the bedroom gets it's connection from this DVR - but is newer and also had a HDMI outlet.  So, I'd have to run a cord from my computer across the room to the TV and that is all I'd need to do?

Yes, that is absolutely it--its exactly what I do--cheaper than buying a Bluray.   So sign up for Netflix!

Offline massadvj

  • Editorial Advisor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,194
    • Auktion Online
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #16 on: March 02, 2014, 08:33:46 PM »
Like Lips, I use HDMI.  I also bought a little media player on eBay for $35.  Now I put movies on a flash drive and play them from the media player.  The media player comes with a remote, so I don't even have to get up.  I can put about 25 movies on a flash drive.  Did the same thing at our cabin in Texas.

Here's a link to a media player.  There are tons of them you can buy:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1080P-HD-Multi-Media-Player-HDMI-YPbPr-AV-USB-SD-MMC-RM-RMVB-AVI-MPEG-Black-NEW-/310728012816?pt=US_Internet_Media_Streamers&hash=item4858d53410
« Last Edit: March 02, 2014, 08:34:28 PM by massadvj »
"She only coughs when she lies."

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #17 on: March 02, 2014, 08:51:01 PM »
That looks like a really handy gadget.  Now all I have to figure out is how to put movies on a flashdrive.   No idea how to do that.

Offline Rapunzel

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 71,719
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #18 on: March 02, 2014, 08:59:26 PM »
That looks like a really handy gadget.  Now all I have to figure out is how to put movies on a flashdrive.   No idea how to do that.

I need a man........  I had tyo hire the local Sound Bank to come out after George died and explain how everything worked here........

Offline massadvj

  • Editorial Advisor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,194
    • Auktion Online
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2014, 12:08:33 AM »
That looks like a really handy gadget.  Now all I have to figure out is how to put movies on a flashdrive.   No idea how to do that.

Just drag the file into the flash drive folder, or copy and paste.
"She only coughs when she lies."

Offline Rapunzel

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 71,719
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #20 on: March 03, 2014, 12:13:40 AM »
Just drag the file into the flash drive folder, or copy and paste.

So let me get this straight. I download the movie from Netflix or Amazon to watch and then save it to the flash drive and then plug the flash drive into my TV????  Do I have a Flash Drive thingy on my TV????    I know there is a plug in my DVR.  What about saving it to my "My Book" which is a plug in additional drive I use to save the stuff for the doctor separate from my computer.

Offline massadvj

  • Editorial Advisor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12,194
    • Auktion Online
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #21 on: March 03, 2014, 12:21:19 AM »
So let me get this straight. I download the movie from Netflix or Amazon to watch and then save it to the flash drive and then plug the flash drive into my TV????  Do I have a Flash Drive thingy on my TV????    I know there is a plug in my DVR.  What about saving it to my "My Book" which is a plug in additional drive I use to save the stuff for the doctor separate from my computer.

I don't use Amazon or Netflix so I can't answer the first part.  But if you are saving and playing the file after you download (as opposed to streaming) then it should work.  The flash drive plugs into the media player and the media player hooks into your tv via the HDMI cable.
"She only coughs when she lies."

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #22 on: March 03, 2014, 10:12:18 AM »
So let me get this straight. I download the movie from Netflix or Amazon to watch and then save it to the flash drive and then plug the flash drive into my TV????  Do I have a Flash Drive thingy on my TV????    I know there is a plug in my DVR.  What about saving it to my "My Book" which is a plug in additional drive I use to save the stuff for the doctor separate from my computer.

If you're going to stream from Netflix, just keep it simple and run an HDMI from your laptop to your TV. 

Offline Lipstick on a Hillary

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 6,027
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #23 on: March 03, 2014, 10:15:16 AM »
I need a man........  I had tyo hire the local Sound Bank to come out after George died and explain how everything worked here........

I had a similar situation.  Bill had disconnected the surround sound (I can't remember the reason) before he died, so I had to hire a sound place to come re-configure everything after he was gone.  I even had them rig me up an idiot-proof remote system so I wouldn't screw anything up. 

Offline NavyCanDo

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5,865
Re: Anybody have any experience with Roku?
« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2014, 01:40:34 PM »
A nation that turns away from prayer will ultimately find itself in desperate need of it. :Jonathan Cahn


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf