Author Topic: Warning: Hearing the Way Ed Schultz Spoke to a 23-Year Military Veteran May Make Your Blood Boil  (Read 1216 times)

Offline happyg

A retired military veteran called in during Ed Schultz’s radio program on Thursday to respectfully disagree with the host’s claim that Republicans are an enemy to the nation’s vets. Rather than having a reasonable debate, Schultz screamed at the caller, “Russell,” and called his point of view an “idiot argument.”

“I just called to disagree with you about Democrats caring about veterans. I’m a retired veteran with 23 years of service and I don’t know if you know it, but 1 October, 171,000 of us were kicked off our health care. And those ‘evil Republicans,’ as you like to call them, passed a bill in June and it’s been sitting in the Senate and Reid won’t bring it up,” the 23-year veteran began.

“First of all, you have, uh, your facts wrong,” Schultz responded, changing the subject and hollering over the caller when he tried to respond. “I’m not going to freaking argue with you, Russell. You’re full of crap, okay? You’re full of it. The government shutdown hurt the veterans. Is that wrong or right?”

“It hasn’t hurt us yet,” Russell said.

Schultz then vowed to “break your idiot argument down piece by piece!”

The caller again reiterated that he is one of the 171,000 retired veterans who lost their benefits, a move that was supposedly intended to “reduce the cost of providing health care to military retirees.” The Democrats refuse to consider the Republican’s proposal to address the problem, he said. The vet also said he didn’t retire from the military for Obamacare.

“You have your facts wrong,” Schultz repeated, without actually explaining what facts were wrong. “You know what, you need a right-wing talker.”