Author Topic: Why the AR-15 Sucks for Preppers  (Read 1725 times)

Online Elderberry

• TBR Contributor
Why the AR-15 Sucks for Preppers
« on: March 22, 2020, 09:45:15 pm »
Readyman 3/17/2019

I’m a 28-year Green Beret veteran (8 years boots-on-the-ground just in Afghanistan). My family comes from a manufacturing background.

And, I hate the AR-15.

This sounds like an AA meeting for American veterans, so I better put up a decent argument soon before I’m lynched. Why does the AR suck? 

It’s too complex. Any time you have a system that is complex, you have two results: efficiency and fragility.

In the military we are taught that the AR-15 is a fine weapon “as long as you maintain it.” In truth, the design works (80% of the time) in spite of itself, and has gone through so many design iterations that people have lost count.  The history of the AR-15 is a history of band-aids.

From front to back:

•     The front sight assembly sits ridiculously high because the straight (non-ergonomic) stock has to contain a massive spring and buffer assembly. If the weight or spring compression in that assembly is off just a small amount, it causes malfunction. This design flaw, right out of the gate, causes a huge mechanical offset where the eye lines up around three inches higher than the barrel. That’s why in 2019 you can’t find a new AR-15 with an old school front sight assembly.

•   The gas tube is thin, fragile and subject to bending or breaking—usually taking the rifle out of commission.

•   The star chamber and bolt face are perhaps the single biggest design flaw of the AR-15.  That’s the eight-petaled flower at the front of the bolt. Flowers don’t belong in assault rifles. Some say the star chamber provides accuracy. It does not. Bolt-action sniper rifles don’t have star chambers. They have two or three lug bolts and they are the gold standard for accuracy.

More: https://www.readyman.com/blogs/black-autumn/why-the-ar-15-sucks-for-preppers

Offline catfish1957