Author Topic: Reigning in Win10 using O&O's ShutUp10 and AppBuster  (Read 1292 times)

Offline roamer_1

Reigning in Win10 using O&O's ShutUp10 and AppBuster
« on: February 17, 2020, 07:26:08 pm »
As a service tech, I have looked pretty hard for a means to shut off windows telemetry in an efficient way... Not only for setting up machines, which gets pretty laborious wandering around in settings, but to do so efficiently the same way every time, and in a way that combats MS trying to turn the stuff back on... Because they DO try to. Without some magic pill, one must repeat that wandering every single time that Windows is updated.

Now, the solution I have is not perfect - But it is a one-click wonder that does what I need to have it do. Simple enough to teach to end users, and reasonable to maintain.

Both of the products I will mention here are from O&O Software GmbH (direct links to tools below), a reputable source among techs. Both are free to use.

Both are portable - That means they do not use the windows registry for themselves, so they do not need to be installed or uninstalled - Just drop them somewhere and run them... and simply delete them to uninstall (sort of).

SHUTUP10

The first tool, the one that will shut off all that promiscuity with Microsoft and it's partners, is ShutUp10

Make a folder somewhere on your machine where you can find it again - I use C:\LocalToys\ but anywhere will do.

Download the file and copy/move it to that folder
Navigate to the folder and run the file.

It looks awfully complicated, but here's the trick:
On the 'Actions' tab Choose the 'yellow triangle' (Use recommended and somewhat recommended settings), and then hit the big [X] to leave... It will ask to make a restore point (YES), and then may ask to restart the machine (will for sure the first time) (YES)

And that's it. When the machine comes back up, it will be very locked down, and will run much better.