Author Topic: Democrats unveil articles of impeachment against Trump  (Read 5273 times)

Online libertybele

Re: Democrats unveil articles of impeachment against Trump
« Reply #75 on: December 11, 2019, 02:40:52 am »
@Cyber Liberty
@libertybele

Section 1505. Obstruction of proceedings before departments, agencies, and committees
18 U.S. Code § 1505.Obstruction of proceedings before departments, agencies, and committees
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/1505

I am not a lawyer or Constitutional scholar (such as Levin or Cruz) but this seems to have to do with "civil" proceedings, not government...again, just my opinion.

By definition Contempt of Congress is the act of obstructing the work of the United States Congress or one of its committees. Historically, the bribery of a U.S. Senator or U.S. Representative was considered contempt of Congress.

Again, how did President Trump obstruct the work of Congress or one of its committees???   Secondly, he didn't "bribe" as U.S. Senator or U.S. Representative, if so, who did he bribe?  Incidentally, the DEMS tried to prove bribery but could not, so they switched their 'charge' to abuse of power.  What abuse of power? 

Ok ... researching a little further ... it would appear that IF the White House has refused to comply with a subpoena then it may be considered an obstruction of Congress and they could file a 'civil lawsuit?  However, a sitting President cannot be charged with a crime (per Alan Dershowitz).

Please forward this information to Levin and perhaps he can digest all of this and shed his knowledge and opinion on all of this.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2019, 03:05:10 am by libertybele »
Romans 12:16-21