Author Topic: Polymorphia  (Read 3399 times)

Offline Suppressed

Polymorphia
« on: October 14, 2018, 11:23:43 pm »
An early jump on Halloween... 

Polymorphia na 48 instrumentów smyczkowych (Polymorphia for 48 stringed instruments) was composed by Krzysztof Penderecki in 1961.  The 48 instruments are 24 violins, 8 violas, 8 cellos, and 8 basses.  The composer had to develop his own system of notation to convey his intentions.
(I direct any questions about timbre systems and other technical stuff to @musiclady:laugh:)

It was used in both The Exorcist and The Shining.  Here is an abridged version, conducted by the composer.

There's creepiness throughout, but the part I like best starts at 2:10.

Sleep well!  Bwahahahaha...

! No longer available

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwImX18AS_E

+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline musiclady

Re: Polymorphia
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2018, 01:08:57 am »
I will come back to this when I can listen on something other than my phone!

I sang in the premiere of the Penderecki St. Luke Passion in Carnegie Hall, so I have a special place in my heart for his weirdity.  happy77
Character still matters.  It always matters.

I wear a mask as an exercise in liberty and love for others.  To see it as an infringement of liberty is to entirely miss the point.  Be kind.

"Sometimes I think the Church would be better off if we would call a moratorium on activity for about six weeks and just wait on God to see what He is waiting to do for us. That's what they did before Pentecost."   - A. W. Tozer

Use the time God is giving us to seek His will and feel His presence.

BassWrangler