Author Topic: GOP senator says he 'regularly' considers leaving Republican Party  (Read 58098 times)

Offline Smokin Joe

• I was a "conspiracy theorist". Now I'm just right.
Re: GOP senator says he 'regularly' considers leaving Republican Party
« Reply #750 on: September 16, 2018, 08:55:55 am »
Maybe because we're all 'disbelieving, smug, self-righteous, arrogant and otherwise contrarian naysayers' because we require proof.  *****rollingeyes*****

Perhaps it is that I am a scientist, a skeptic, or perhaps it is the 'Doubting Thomas' in my nature, but I want proof. The best proof will be seen hanging from gibbets and adorned in orange coveralls and stainless chains.
How God must weep at humans' folly! Stand fast! God knows what he is doing!
Seventeen Techniques for Truth Suppression

Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.

C S Lewis

Offline aligncare

« Reply #751 on: September 16, 2018, 01:11:19 pm »
@Quix said:
He [President Trump] can say what HE wants vs have the talking heads mangle it. True, he could sometimes be more refined and even a bit more circumspect on some topics and in some situations.

Yes, agreed and probably most of his supporters would also agree. But, none of us, I suspect, would want to throw out the baby with the bath water as so many of Trump’s misguided conservative critics here seem so determined to do.

Offline Quix

• Times R a changin' Walk with God!
« Reply #752 on: September 16, 2018, 03:07:24 pm »
@Quix said: