Author Topic: Opinion Requested  (Read 3229 times)

Offline Suppressed

Opinion Requested
« on: August 20, 2018, 08:24:17 pm »
I asked Alexa (connected to Amazon Music) to play "ethereal music".  She came back with "Ambient Music" playlist.

Most of it is fine, but then there are some odd ones.  I don't know a lot about music, and I don't know the definition of "Ambient".  Am I wrong for thinking the following doesn't belong on that playlist?

! No longer available
+++++++++
“In the outside world, I'm a simple geologist. But in here .... I am Falcor, Defender of the Alliance” --Randy Marsh

“The most effectual means of being secure against pain is to retire within ourselves, and to suffice for our own happiness.” -- Thomas Jefferson

“He's so dumb he thinks a Mexican border pays rent.” --Foghorn Leghorn

Offline Cyber Liberty

• Coffee! Donuts! Kittens!
  • Administrator
  • 🌵🌵🌵
Re: Opinion Requested
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2018, 08:30:23 pm »
Great Caesar's ghost!  WTF was that, and did it jolt you awake?
For unvaccinated, we are looking at a winter of severe illness and death — if you’re unvaccinated — for themselves, their families, and the hospitals they’ll soon overwhelm. Sloe Joe Biteme 12/16
I will NOT comply.

Castillo del Cyber Autonomous Zone ~~~~~>                          :dontfeed:

Offline andy58-in-nh

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2018, 09:04:13 pm »
"Ambient music" is a kind of audible fog. "Ethereal" music is atmospheric, in that it centers on a steady or pulsing tone, but frequently contains elements of more traditional music (including lyrics and instrumentation). The Beatles album Magical Mystery Tour was built around this concept. And also, a lot of marijuana.